Brouwerij Lindemans – Framboise

  • Style: Fruit Lambic
  • ABV: 2.5%

Poured from the bottle into the Lindemans flute that came as a package deal with this beer and the Lindemans Pomme. Unfortunately some of the sediment was left at the bottom of the bottle which came out when I rinsed it, so my notes may be lacking on this beer and I could tell from the darkness and more tart taste of my second pour that I may have missed out on the full experience of this one. Nonetheless, this beer pours a deep reddish-pink color, pretty much what you would expect of raspberries. There is a small, one-finger head of pink foam that dissipates to a light dusting of bubbles atop the beer. The aroma is remarkable (though perhaps not for those who are more familiar with lambics) in that it is just straight raspberries. It’s hard to believe this is beer, though the lambic style is very different from the way most beer is made today. The taste is all raspberry as well, with a bit of tartness, though more would be welcome. It’s almost like drinking sparkling raspberry cider, especially with an ABV so low. The mouthfeel is unremarkable and has the same consistency as carbonated juice. All in all, I have to say that I did enjoy this beer, and it paired perfectly with the salad I had at dinner. But if you’re looking for a sour fruit beer or anything really resembling beer at all, you might want to look elsewhere as this appears to me to be not much more than expensive and slightly tart sparkling raspberry cider with a tiny bit of a kick.

Further reading on Lindemans Framboise:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment